Working Groups and Commissions



Commission on Mean Sea Level and Tides  

Prof. Gary T. Mitchum
College of Marine Science
University of South Florida
140 Seventh Ave. South
S. Petersburg, FL 33701, USA    

Phone: 1-727-553-3941
Fax: 1-727.553-1189
Email: mitchum(at)

Vice President:
Dr. Simon Holgate
Sea Level Research Foundation
Liverpool Science Park IC1
131 Mount Pleasant
Liverpool,  L3 5TF, UK    

Phone: +44 151 709 3086
Fax: +44 151 705 3140
Email: simon(at)

Website: ,

Annual Report 2011 (512 Kb)


Joint Committee on the Properties of Seawater, JCS (with SCOR and IAPWS)


Prof. Rich Pawlowicz

Dept. of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, University of British Columbia

6339 Stores Rd., Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z4

Email: rpawlowicz(at)

Vice Chair:

Prof. Trevor McDougall

The School of Mathematics and Statistics

University of New South Wales

Sydney NSW 2052, Australia

Email: trevor.mcdougall(at)

Vice Chair:

Dr. Rainer Feistel

Leibniz-Institute for Baltic Sea Research

Seestrasse 15

D-18119 Rostock, Germany

Email: rainer.feistel(at) 


pdfTEOS-10 manual 10jun 2010.pdf6 MB
pdfTEOS-10 in Ocean Science.pdf377 KB

Report on activities at JCS workshops, Greenwich, UK Sept. 2-3, 2013


Tsunami Commission (Joint with IASPEI and IAVCEI)


   Dr. Vasily V. Titov

   Chief Scientist

   NOAA Center for Tsunami Research

   PMEL, Bldg 3, Rm 2072, NOAA Sand Point


   Phone:  1-206-526-4536

   Fax: 1-206-526-6485

   E-mail: Vasily.Titov(at)



   Phil Cummins                                          










   IAPSO representative:

   Professor Efim Pelinovsky

   Department of Nonlinear Geophysical Processes, Institute of Applied Physics

   Russian Academy of Sciences

   46 Uljanov Street, Nizhny Novgorod, 603950 Russia

   Phone: +7-831-4164839         Fax: +7-831-4365976

   E-mail: pelinovsky(at) This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ; epelinovskiy(at) This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ; pelinovsky(at) ;




GeoRisk Commission - Joint with IAMAS, IAHS, IASPEI, IAVCEI



IASPEI/IAPSO/IAGA International Ocean Network (ION)


   Yoshiyuki Kaneda, Japan     



   Heinrich Villinger, Germany



   IAPSO Representative:

   Dr. Satheesh C. Shenoi

   Director, Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS)
   (Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India)

   "Ocean Valley", Pragathi Nagar (BO), Nizampet (SO), Hyderabad - 500 090

   Ph. 040-2389 5000 (Off.); 040 65743155 (Res.); 09441013377 (Mobile)

   Email: shenoi(at)           Website:




Commission on Groundwater Seawater Interactions

Discontinued in 2005

Commission on Sea Ice

Discontinued in 2003

Working groups


IUGG Working Group on History

  Chair: Hans Volkert (Germany)

  Vice Chair: Claude Boucher (France)

   IAPSO representative: John Gould (UK), wjg(at)


All scientists within IUGG and all historians of science with interest in geophysics are invited to contribute to WGH.



Joint with SCOR

The working groups are normally financed for 3 years.

No working group is sponsored by IAPSO at present.


Past working groups

ad hoc IUGG/IAPSO/SCOR working group of experts on Future of the Ocean and its Seas (2015-2016)

Co-Chairs: Phillip Williamson (UK), Denise Smythe-Wright (UK), and Peter Burkill (UK)

Established in November 2015 by IUGG, IAPSO and SCOR to prepare a response to the marine science issues raised by the G7 Science Ministers in the communiqué arising from their meeting in October 2015.


SCOR/WCRP/IAPSO Working Group 136 Climatic importance of the Greater Agulhas System (2009-)

Co-Chairs: Lisa Beal (USA) and Arne Biastoch (Germany)

WG136_annual report 2011  (600 Kb)

On the role of the Agulhas system in ocean circulation and climate, Nature 2011 (753 Kb)

SCOR/IAPSO Working Group 133 OceanScope (2008-)

Co-Chairs: Tom Rossby (USA) and Kuh Kim (Korea)


SCOR/IAPSO Working Group 129 on Deep Ocean Exchange with the Shelf (DOES) (2006-)

Chair: Dr. John Johnson, United Kingdom
Vice-Chair: Piers Chapman, USA


Workshop October 6-8 2008 in Cape Town, South Africa.


 WG 129 report 2011 (30 kb)

 Preface WG 129 Special Issue in Ocean Sci. (2011  Bytes)

SCOR/IAPSO Working Group 127 on Thermodynamics and Equation of State of Seawater (2005-)

Chair: Dr. Trevor McDougall, Australia


SCOR/LOICZ/IAPSO Working Group 122 on Mechanisms of Sediment retention in Estuaries (2003-)

Co-Chairs: Dr. Gerardo Perillo, Argentina, and Jams Syvitsky, USA



IAPSO/SCOR Joint Working Group 121 on Ocean Mixing (2002-)

Chair: Robin D. Muench
Earth & Space Research
1910 Fairview East, Suit 102
Seattle, WA 98102-3620, USA



IAG/ IAPSO Joint Working Group on Geodetic Effects of Nontidal Oceanic Processes (1999-2003)




Permanent Services

Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level

Dr. Lesley Richard
Permanent Service for Mean Sea Level
Proudman Oceanographic Laboratory
6 Brownlow Street
Liverpool L3 5DA

tel. 44-151-795-4800
fax. 44-151-795-4801
email psmsl(at)



IAPSO Standard Seawater Service

Dr. Richard Williams
Director, IAPSO Standard Seawater Service

Culkin House
C7/C8 Endeavour Business Park
Penner Road
United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 (0) 2392 488 240
Fax: +44 (0) 2392 488 241
Email: osil(at)