Prince Albert I Medal

The Prince Albert I Medal is an award offered by the Foundation Rainier III of Monaco to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the enhancement and advancement of the physical and/or chemical sciences of the oceans. It is awarded every two years to a most prominent scientist chosen by a specially appointed IAPSO Award Committee. One year prior to each IAPSO Assembly, the Secretary General of IAPSO will call for nominations for the award. Nominations must be sent to the Secretary General within three months after the announcement.

Prince Albert I Medal recipient 2017 – Lynne Talley

talley lynne zoomLynne Talley, Distinguished Professor at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, is the Prince Albert I Medal recipient 2017: 'For her seminal contributions to our understanding of all ocean basins, including landmark discoveries in the Pacific, Atlantic and Southern Oceans".

The Award ceremony, led by Dr. Denise Smythe-Wright, President of IAPSO, took place on August 31, 2017, at the IAPSO-IAMAS-IAGA Joint Assembly in Cape Town, during which Prof. Talley delivered the Albert I Memorial Lecture "A case for sustained observations of the ocean: observing the overturning circulation and its variability".

Use the link below for further information. 
The Prince Albert I Medal

Eugene LaFond Medal

The Eugene LaFond Medal shall be awarded to an ocean scientist from a developing country making a presentation (poster or oral) in a IAPSO-sponsored or co-sponsored symposium at the IUGG or IAPSO assemblies.

The Eugene LaFond Medal 2017 has been awarded at the IAPSO-IAMAS-IAGA Joint Assembly "Good Hope for Earth Sciences" in Cape Town to Dr Jonathan Durgadoo from Mauritius for his oral presentation "Indian Ocean sources of Agulhas leakage".

Use the link below for further information.
The Eugene LaFond Medal