National Committee Reports


Summer School on "Physics of the Ocean", 12-17 July 2020 in Bad Honnef, Germany (published 19 December 2019)

  • Organized by Martin Visbeck (GEOMAR & Kiel University, Germany), Sabrina Speich (Ecole Normale Supérieure - PSL, France) and David Marshall (Oxford University, UK) and run by the Bad Honnef Physics school supported by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation.
  • The Ocean Physics Summer School aims at providing a broader view of the ocean system from a physical perspective, encompassing a large range of scales and their interactions. 
  • Young scientists - advanced master students, graduate students and first year postdocs - from all over Europe and beyond from all fields with an interest in physics who want to increase their knowledge about the ocean can apply for participation.
  • Application deadline: 7 February 2020.
  • Application & more information:

Expert Review of the Working Group III Contribution to the IPCC Sixth Assessment Report, Climate Change 2021: Mitigation of Climate Change (published 9 January 2020)

IAPSO invites its community to  participate in the expert review of the AR6 Working Group III FOD. The expert review of the FOD starts on 13 January 2020, and ends on 8 March 2020, 23:59 (GMT +1), and is an expert review only.

All those previously nominated for any role in the Working Group III contribution to the AR6, by governments and observer organizations, but not selected, will be informed separately by the IPCC Secretariat.

Prospective expert reviewers can register via the IPCC web site:
Registration will close on 2 March 2020, 23:59 (GMT +1)

Additional information on the role of Expert Reviewer is available in Annex 1 of Appendix A to the Principles Governing IPCC Work. Please also see here an information note explaining the Expert Review process:

If you have any questions about the process, please contact the IPCC Working Group III TSU at


This year we will be celebrating 100 years of IAPSO with a party atmosphere at L'Auberge St Gabriel, Montreal Old Town, on Friday, 12 July 2019.

Since the number of tickets is limited, and to help us with the organization, please register your interest as soon as possible and, by June 20, to at

Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you have difficulties in registering.

The price per ticket will be $CAD 75 for those registering until June 20, and $CAD 85 for late registrations.

IAPSO Best Practice Study Groups

Established in 2019, IAPSO Best Practice Study Groups will address an issue that, when resolved, will assist in the conduct of oceanographic research. Often in carrying out research, a choice must be made between options for measuring data, analysing data, processing software, or modelling a system. The reasons for choosing between competing methods are often not well documented and the relative strengths and weaknesses of these routes not published or well known. We expect to fund one of these per year.

Read the Call

IAPSO received nine proposals, and the five members of the evaluation committee felt that most of these were of a very high calibre and deserving of funding. However, we were only able to fund two in this first round and the selected proposals are:

Read the Call

1) The proposal must be presented and signed by a group of researchers from different countries? Can be presented and signed by a group of researchers from one country only, or by one researcher?

The proposal must have the consent of a group of researchers from different countries. Can be presented by one researcher indicating the members (with countries and expertise) of the Study group. 

2) The proposed issue should necessarily produce recomendations that represent an advance for the whole oceanographic community or it can be produce new recomendations to be applied to some regional community?

If it is a regional problem, that's fine. Could the solution perhaps be exported to a wider level later?

3) This type of proposals for IAPSO Best Practice Study Groups will take place in further years too?

We plan to lunch a call for IAPSO Best Practice Study Groups every two years to support 2 groups during this time.


IAPSO Award ceremony

Friday, July 12, 16:30-19:00, Room 512CG, Floor 5

The ceremony is dedicated to honoring the 2019 Prince Albert I Medal and the Early Career Scientist Medals Awardees who will present their innovative research and exciting results. More information at the link


Chair: Stefania Sparnocchia (IAPSO SG, Italy)

16:30 – 17:00 Introduction and presentation of the Prince Albert I and ECS Medals to recipients
Denise Smythe-Wright (IAPSO President, United Kingdom)

17:00-18:00 Memorial Lecture: Decadal variability in the ocean CO2 sink
Corinne Le Quéré (Prince Albert I medal recipient 2019, France)

18:00-18:30 Overturning variability with observations
Gerard McCarthy (ECS Medal 2019 - Physical ocean science, Ireland)

18:30-19:00 Nitrogen fixation across scales
Mar Benavides (ECS Medal 2019 - Chemical ocean science, France)