IAPSO Award ceremony

Friday, July 12, 16:30-19:00, Room 512CG, Floor 5

The ceremony is dedicated to honoring the 2019 Prince Albert I Medal and the Early Career Scientist Medals Awardees who will present their innovative research and exciting results. More information at the link http://iapso.iugg.org/awards-and-honors.html.


Chair: Stefania Sparnocchia (IAPSO SG, Italy)

16:30 – 17:00 Introduction and presentation of the Prince Albert I and ECS Medals to recipients
Denise Smythe-Wright (IAPSO President, United Kingdom)

17:00-18:00 Memorial Lecture: Decadal variability in the ocean CO2 sink
Corinne Le Quéré (Prince Albert I medal recipient 2019, France)

18:00-18:30 Overturning variability with observations
Gerard McCarthy (ECS Medal 2019 - Physical ocean science, Ireland)

18:30-19:00 Nitrogen fixation across scales
Mar Benavides (ECS Medal 2019 - Chemical ocean science, France)