The Prince Albert I Medal

Prince Albert I Medal recipient 2011

Dr. Trevor McDougall


Dr. Trevor McDougall, CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research, Hobart, Australia,  is the Prince Albert 1 Medal recipient 2011: "For his outstanding work on (1) important and fundamental problems of ocean fluid dynamics over the full range of ocean scales, and (2) the thermodynamic properties of seawater".

Dr Trevor McDougall is internationally known for his work on important and fundamental problems of oceanic fluid dynamics covering all ocean scales. These include many aspects of double-diffusive convection, the definition of neutral density surfaces in relation to the movement of mesoscale eddies, and the way in which mesoscale mixing processes should be represented in ocean models.  To faithfully represent the ocean in climate models, it is necessary to incorporate elements of ocean thermodynamics as described by McDougall’s work.  Most recently, he led a SCOR/IAPSO team of chemists, physical oceanographers and modelers in redefining the thermodynamic properties of seawater, an interest stemming from his own work on the accurate treatment of heat in the ocean-climate system. This recent work strengthens even further the brilliant and unique contributions Trevor McDougall has made to oceanic science.  He is a most worthy recipient of the Prince Albert I Medal.

The Award ceremony took place at the IUGG2011 General Assembly in Melbourne, 1 July, 10:30. This was followed by the Memorial Lecture by the Awardee.

As an update on the above biographical sketch of Dr. Trevor McDougall, the IAPSO Executive wishes to announce that in April 2012, Trevor was appointed Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia, where he will lead a group of physical oceanographers lecturing in applied mathematics and statistics. Also in April 2012, Trevor was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London (FRS), which is one of the highest honours a scientist from the UK or the British Commonwealth can be awarded.  Congratulations Trevor!