The Prince Albert I Medal

 Previous Recipients of the Prince Albert I Medal

In partnership with the International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Oceans, Prince Rainier of Monaco has established the Prince Albert I Medal in the physical and chemical sciences of the oceans. This medal is named in honor of the late Prince Albert I of Monaco who, in 1919, organized the Oceanography Section of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics. He also served as first president of that section. The medal is awarded biannually by IAPSO at its Assemblies. Recipients of the medal have been

  • 2001 Dr. Walter Munk
  • 2003 Dr. Klaus Wyrtki
  • 2005 Prof. Dr. Friedrich Schott
  • 2007 Dr. Russ Davis
  • 2009 Prof. Harry L. Bryden
  • 2011 Dr. Trevor McDougall
  • 2013 Prof. Arnold L. Gordon
  • 2015 Prof. Toshio Yamagata