The Eugene LaFond Medal

Eugene LaFondMedal pictureThe Eugene LaFond Medal shall be awarded to an ocean scientist from a developing country making a presentation (poster or oral) in a IAPSO-sponsored or co-sponsored symposium at the IUGG or IAPSO assemblies.

Next meeting at which the LaFond Medal will be awarded is the IUGG 2019 in Montreal, Canada.

 The criteria for selection of the recipient are as follows:

  1. The recipient shall be a scientist who was born in a developing country (as defined by the IAPSO Executive at the time of the award).
  2. The recipient should have gained a significant part of their education in a developing country.
  3. Preference should be given to candidates who are in the early stages of their career.
  4. The research presented should have been carried out at an institution in a developing country or should be of significant importance for developing countries.

Selection procedure:

  • In the call for papers at IAPSO meetings, scientists shall be invited to identify their presentation as being eligible for the LaFond Medal. This is done by sending an E-mail, including a brief CV describing their education and research activities, to the IAPSO This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and with a copy to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . At meetings where this is not possible, session convenors shall identify candidates they believe to be eligible.
  • A subset of the IAPSO Executive shall undertake to view posters and attend oral presentations by eligible candidates. They shall select the award winner based on the clarity and quality of the presentation and the significance of the research. In the case of jointly-authored presentations the selection committee shall ensure that the award winner has made a seminal contribution to the research.
  • The recipient shall be informed of the award by the IAPSO Secretary General who shall ensure that an appropriate citation is prepared to accompany the medal. The award shall be publicised by IAPSO through appropriate channels.