Awards and Honors

Prince Albert I Medal

The Prince Albert I Medal is an award offered by the Foundation Rainier III of Monaco to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the enhancement and advancement of the physical and/or chemical sciences of the oceans. It is awarded every two years to a most prominent scientist chosen by a specially appointed IAPSO Award Committee. One year prior to each IAPSO Assembly, the Secretary General of IAPSO will call for nominations for the award. Nominations must be sent to the Secretary General within three months after the announcement.

The Call for nomination for the recipient of the Prince Albert Medal for the year 2021 is now closed.

Use the link below for further information. 

The Prince Albert I Medal

Eugene LaFond Medal

The Eugene LaFond Medal shall be awarded to an ocean scientist from a developing country making a presentation (poster or oral) in a IAPSO-sponsored or co-sponsored symposium at the IUGG or IAPSO assemblies.

The Eugene LaFond Medal 2019 was awarded at the IUGG General Assembly in Montreal, Canada, July 8 - 18, 2019 to Mr. Rohith Balakrishnan from India for his oral presentation "Indian Basin-wide sea level coherency in the tropical Indian Ocean driven by Madden-Julian oscillations". This was delivered on July 11, 2019 within the IAG-IAPSO joint symposium 'Monitoring Sea Level Changes by Satellite and In-Situ Measurements'.

Use the link below to learn more about eligibility and how to apply
The Eugene LaFond Medal

IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medals

This award honours Early Career Scientists for their outstanding research in the physical or chemical sciences of the oceans, and for their cooperation in international research. The IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medal is presented by the IAPSO President, every two years, at the biannual IAPSO Assembly, where the Awardee will be expected to give a talk on a scientific topic of their choice. Financial assistance to attend the Assembly will be available.

The deadline for nomination for the recipients of the IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medals for the year 2021 is extended to 15 February, 2021.

Call for Nomination 

Use the link below for further information.